Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Diana Taurasi Named MVP; Lyttle Gets a Mention

Diana Taurasi received the majority of votes for MVP.

(UPDATE: I thought she had received all of the votes, but the corrections are in the comments below.)

The complete list of votes and vote getters:

323 Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury
163 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
128 Katie Douglas Indiana Fever
99 Cappie Pondexter Phoenix Mercury
77 Becky Hammon San Antonio Silver Stars
73 Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
39 Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks
27 Deanna Nolan Detroit Shock
10 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
9 Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks
8 Sophia Young San Antonio Silver Stars
7 Sancho Lyttle Atlanta Dream
1 Alana Beard Washington Mystics
1 Candice Dupree Chicago Sky
1 Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky

I'm glad that Sancho Lyttle at least got a few mentions. However, I'm surprised that Erika de Souza didn't even get a mention. I suppose Erika will have to be satisfied with repeating as MVP of the Liga Femenina.


Ethan said...

ESPN reported that Tamika Catchings received 3 first-place votes to Taurasi's 27.

TJ said...

Top 5 Overall:
Taurasi 27
Catchings 3
Douglas 5
Pondexter 1
Hammon 3